All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

AIADMK Founder Leader Puratchi Thalaivar Bharat Ratna Dr. M.G.R


Date of Birth: 12.01.1917

Place: Kandy (Srilanka)

Education: Primary Schooling

Profession: Acting, Directing and producing Films

Political Career:

In 1952 Dr.MGR enrolled himself as a member in the DMK, and later become Treasurer of the Party. After the demise of Peraringar Anna, he had differences of opinion with the DMK and was removed from the Party. Later, he started ADMK Political Party. The Party in its very nascent stage itself secured a glorious victory in Dindigul Lok sabha By-election in which the ruling DMK  secured a distant third place. In tandem, during the General Election of 1977 the Party secured victory to form the Government. Since 1977 till his demise he adorned the throne of Tamil Nadu Chiefminstership.

Chief Minister

1st Term: 30.06.1977 – 17.02.1980
2nd Term: 09.06.1980 – 15.11.1984
3rd Term: 10.02.1985 – 24.12. 1987

Tamil Nadu Legislative Council Member
21.04.1962 – 24.12.1964

Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Member
1967 – 1971 : St. Thomas Mount
1971 – 1976 : St. Thomas Mount
1977 – 1980 : Aruppukottai
1980 – 1984 : Madurai West
1984 – 1987 : Andipatti


1965 – Film Fare Best Actor Award
1969 – Film Fare Best Film Award
1971 – Best Actor National Award

University of Madras has bestowed Honorable Doctorate on him.
In 1988 after his demise posthumously India’s highest award of Bharat Rathna was conferred on him.

Foreign Trips
Sri Lanka, Burma, Singapore, Japan, Hong Kong, Bangkok, Russia and USA.

Reading Books

Sports Involved
Chess, Horse Riding, Badminton, Basket Ball & Carom.