All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Hon’ble Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Selvi J Jayalalithaa’s Profile

Date of Birth   : 24.2.1948

Date of Demise: 5.12.2016 (aged 68)

Place   : Mysore, Karnataka

Political Participation:

Under the Guidance of Puratchi Thalaivar MGR, she entered Politics in the year 1982 and become an AIADMK Member. In 1983 she was appointed as the Party’s Propaganda Secretary. She campaigned in support of the party’s candidate who was contesting the Thiruchendur By – election.


By plunging in to the fray she shattered all the impediments and attained victory for the party Candidate. From 1984 till 1989 she served as the member of the Rajya Sabha.

Later, she was elected as Tamil Nadu Legislative Member from Bodinayakanur.

In 1984, owing to ill health, Puratchi Thalaivar MGR was admitted to a hospital in USA.  The same year in December the party had to face both Lok Sabha and Legislative Assembly elections together.

As Puratchi Thalaivar MGR was unable to go on a whirlwind campaign in support of the party candidates, Ms. Jayalalithaa took up this crucial role.

In 1989, AIADMK witnessed a resounding victory in the Lok Sabha Election both in Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry.

Later in, 1991 the state had to face  assembly election and AIADMK under the able guidance of AMMA swept  victory in 225 constituencies of the total 234. She contested from both Bargur and Kangeyam constituencies during the general elections to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly in 1991 and won in both places but subsequently resigned the Kangeyam Assembly seat.

Again in 1991 Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry had to face the Lok Sabha General Elections. AIADMK with the support of few friendly parties secured 40 seats in both Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry.

AIADMK under the aegis of Puratchi Thalaivi Ammamade a remarkable come back in the 2011 Legislative Elections with a resounding victory over the DMK and Congress alliance. Fed up with the corruption and violation orchestrated by the DMK, the people of Tamil Nadu rose to the occasion and voted in large numbers for the AIADMK party. AIADMK coalition headed by AMMA won 195 seats of the total 234. AIADMK alone secured 132 constituencies and formed the Government. AMMA was sworn in as Chief Minister for the second time on 14.5.2001. AMMA was elected from Andipatti constituency.

In the 2006 assembly election to Tamil Nadu, the AIADMK coalition secured 68 seats.  AMMA became the Opposition Leader in Tamil Nadu Assembly.

The 2011 Tamil Nadu Assembly General Election ensured the landslide victory of the AIADMK combined coalition, which trounced the DMK .The AIADMK coalition together secured 203 seats. AIADMK bagged 150 seats to form the Government with complete majority. AMMA etched success in Srirangam Constituency from where she contested. Puratchi Thalaive Amma adorned the seat of chief minister for the third time on 16.05.2011.

In 2011 Municipal Elections and Co-operative Society Elections AIADMK attained landslide victory. In the 2014 Lok sabha elections AIADMK won 37 out of 39 constituencies.

The 2016 assembly election once again ensured the emphatic win of AIADMK and Purtachi Thalaivi Amma continued as the chief minister of Tamil Nadu for the 6th term.

The general secretary of AIADMK and the Chief minister of Tamil Nadu , “Puratchi Thalaivi Amma’s” demise on the 5th of December 2016 came as a shocking news to the entire world.

Party functionaries,cadres,public,especially women and leaders belonging to other political from around the globe deeply mourned her non existence.

Chief Minister:

1st Term: 24.6.1991 – 12.5.1996
2nd Term: 14.5.2001 – 21.9.2001
3rd Term: 2.3.2002    – 12.5.2006
4th term: 16.5.2011 – 27.9.2014
5th term: 23.5.2015 – 4.12.2016

Leader of the Opposition:

9.2.1989 – 1.12.1989
29.5.2006 – 13.5.2011

Rajya Sabha Member:

3.4.1984 – 28.1.1989

Legislative Assembly Member:
27.1.1989 – 30.1.1991
24.6.1991 – 12.5.1996
2.3.2002 – 11.5.2006
12.5.2006 – 13.5.2011
14.5.2011 – 4.12.2016


  • 1972 she was conferred with Tamil Nadu Government’s “ Kalaimamani Award “
  • 1991 She was given honorary Doctorate ( D.Litt.) by University of Madras
  • 1992 She was conferred with “Doctor” by Dr. MGR Medical University.
  • 1993 Madurai Kamarajar University bestowed “Doctor” on her.
  • 2003 Bharati Dasan University honoured her with Doctor.
  • 2004 British House of Lords invited her to accept “ New Year’s Best Political Lady”
  • International Human Rights security committee has chosen her for “Thanga Tharagai” Award for her services in saving downtrodden and bringing Gender Equality in Tamil Nadu and India.
  • 2011 America’s New Jersey Public Council has passed a resolution for praising her for the exemplary service and her dynamic Administrative capability in the upliftment of Tamil Populace.

Books Published:

She has written several articles in both English and Tamil and it has been published in various Magazines. She has written four Novels in Tamil and also few short stories.

Involvement in Sports:

Cricket, Tennis, Swimming, Horse Riding, Basket Ball, Chess, Aerobics.

Other Points:

Her school life started with the Bishop Cotton Higher Secondary School in Bengaluru and later shifted to the Presentation Convent – Church Park in Chennai. She excelled at school and was offered a government scholarship to pursue further education. She won Gold State Award for coming first in 10th standard in not just her school but also in Tamil Nadu. She is fluent in several languages, including Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Hindi, Malayalam and English.


“Veda Nilayam” 81, Poes Garden, Chennai – 600 086

Telephone Numbers:

044-2499 4141, 2499 1222, 2466 1222
Fax: 044-2466 0466


044-2567 1525, 2567 2345
Fax : 044- 2567 0930